+ City of Austin, Texas

You are here

10-ONE City of Austin Council Districts

What is 10-ONE?

Under the November 6, 2012, voter-approved charter amendment, Council Members are no longer elected citywide. During the 2014 election, the Mayor was elected citywide, and the other 10 Council Members were elected by residents from geographic districts.

When the first 10-ONE Council took office in January 2015, the Mayor received a four-year term according to the ordinance setting up the new governance structure. The City Clerk’s Office conducted a drawing with the other Council Members to determine whether those elected officials would serve initial terms of two or four years. Class One shall consist of five Council Members who will serve a two-year term. Class Two shall consist of five Council Members who will serve a four-year term. Thereafter, unless elected to fill a vacancy, each Council Member will serve four-year terms. This will allow future elections to take place every two years.

November 6, 2018, will be the third 10-One election.  The Mayor and five Council Members will be up for election.

Learn more about 10-ONE in the Charter Amendment:

Election Day

Election Day is November 6, 2018.  The Council will take office on Jan. 6, 2019


To see who has filed to run for election visit the City Clerk's 2018 Election website

Candidate Statements

Watch this space for candidate statements in English and in Spanish.

The District Map

The 10-ONE map was drawn by a 14-member Citizens Redistricting Commission that completed its task in January 2014.

District Demographics

View the demographics presentation, The Demographic, Socioeconomic and Political Characteristics of Austin's Single-Member Districts, by City Demographer, Ryan Robinson.

Voting Updates Newsletter

Sign up for the Voting Updates newsletter to stay up-to-date on voting deadlines and election news:

More information about the upcoming election can be found on the City Clerk's webpage. See the official ballot applications. The Clerk’s Office updates the page at 10 a.m. and at 3 p.m. pending a candidate filed.